What would you suggest?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

RGVPens

I'm making an EDC Dura Click Stainless Steel. The blank is a Blue Stabilized Box Elder from PSI (WXST11). I sanded through 600 grits so far.
Also doing same kit in Brass with a Green Stabilized Maple Burl...PSI WXST03. Tube is glued but haven't turned yet.

Not a real big fan of CA finish as I'm not good at it as of now...but I could. I currently use Stick Fast brand in Thin and Medium.
I also have Pens Plus and Aussie Oil, I polish plastic with Novus 1,2,3.

I don't think I've done "Stabilized" woods before but will be doing a bunch in the near future.
What methods and products would you good folks suggest?

I think Pens Plus and Aussie Oil are pretty good on wood, but I think there are much better products to use on plastics. What's the best product for plastics?

Thanks for the wisdom of the forum!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

PatrickR

I finish stabilized wood the same as any wood, mainly with CA. I don't use the friction finishes. Stabilized wood needs a finish, it is still wood.
plastic - some finish with CA, most don't use a finish at all. Sand and polish/buff. Novus works but you can get a better shine by going further. Especially by buffing.

magpens

I get a really good shine on plastics using Novus 3, Novus 2, and then finish off with PlastiX.

For the dyed and stabilized woods I use about 8 - 10 coats of thin CA . . . sanded to 1200 grit and then the Novus 3, Novus 2, PlastiX.

Fred Bruche

I'm with Patrick, stabilized wood is not plastic yet doesn't quite "behave" as wood. If the shininess of CA bothers you, don't polish it all the way. If looking for the feel of wood (that gonna be difficult to do, especially with green and blue wood šŸ˜‰) just use a few layers of CA.

jrista