What is the best buffing system for a CA finish

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Lmstretch

I am looking at purchasing a buffing system to enhance the finish on pens I have turned and applied a CA finish. I know there are several systems on the market, but I am looking for recommendations.

Sent from my iPhone using Penturners.org mobile app

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

cozee

I am a body man by trade so cutting and buffing is a way of life for me. I simply wet sand then 3 step compound (3M compounds) followed by a good nano wax. All done on the lathe in about 5 minutes or less. I have been accused of Photoshopping pictures of my CA finishes t ad in sharp edged reflection lines.

Last edited:

pshrynk

What is the difference between a buffing wheel and One Step compound? I do the One Step on the lathe and haven't noticed a problem, but am curious to see if I'm missing out on something.

greenacres2

I have Peachtree's 3 wheel system set up on a lathe, but lately have been using Novus 3 step after Micro Mesh on Glu Boost--and really liking the result. Steps 3 & 2 are applied at about 350 RPM, then lathe off and in grain direction. The polish (Step 1) is just with lathe on. I'm liking it on Alumilite with no CA also, but i need to work on that technique a bit.

edit--clarifying...the Novus is applied with blue shop towel, not the buffing wheels. On the Alumilite, i may try the White Diamond wheel before and/or after the the Novus Step 1...just thinking out loud there.

earl

Last edited:

Curly

The problem with asking a "What's the best?" Kind of question is that very few have tried all the systems and methods. So what you'll get are the "What works for me." kind of answers. That said what works for us is the Beall Buffing System, one of the earliest so it gets copied and "improved" a lot. Caswell has a lot of polishing information and products. That's a good place to start and get good products so you can form your own what works best.

dogcatcher