What is a good finisher for wood pens?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Squeaky1

Hooray, I did it. I finished my first pen and assembled it. Now I want to apply a good finish to it. I am confused with all the different types of finishing compounds. What is best to use?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

lwalper

Well, it seems you may have gotten ahead of yourself. The finish is generally applied before assembly. Check the Library and go to the link for Penturning 101. There's lots of good information there. If you can disassemble your pen (sometimes not an easy task), do that and put it back on the lathe for finishing.

A lot of people use CA glue for a nice hard plastic finish. There are about a b-zillion things to try -- shellac, varnish, laquer, boiled linseed oil, and et cetera. Take your pick, but finishing usually goes much more easily if done on the lathe.

Old newbie

Congrats on your first pen. I am new to this hobby also. Most finishes that i have read about are put on before the pen is assembled. I found many good articles on finishing on the library tab on this site. Good luck!

Dalecamino

Local Chapter Leader
I made a pen for a pen swap partner in Australia (BigShed) being new with turning capped pens, I put it together, then wanted to put some kind of finish on it. So, I taped off all the plated parts with 1/8th inch masking tape, and sprayed it with Deft Laquer. Thread was in the old forum, and my earliest post is Dec. '08 But, it made front page :biggrin:

Jim Burr

Banned
Hooray, I did it. I finished my first pen and assembled it. Now I want to apply a good finish to it. I am confused with all the different types of finishing compounds. What is best to use?

You're kidding...right? Did you look at the finishing forum...Search...Library?
Come on dude(ette)...read.

Last edited:

plantman