Well, Here it Is! - Cocobolo Magnetic Graduate in Chrome

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from egnald

egnald

Greetings from Nebraska. Well, here it is, my first Chrome Magnetic Graduate from Exotic Blanks with a Cocobolo Rosewood blank that I had in a box labeled "Use these First".

The blank had a very dark area on it that contained a knot and a nasty void. I originally thought about starting over with a better blank, but as I mentioned in another post - I just have a hard time letting this kind of thing go. After trying a couple of methods I wound up turning it to nearly the final dimension, using a pick to dig out my failed attempt at wood filler, and filling the crack up with black CA. I think it turned out pretty good all things considered.

Since this is my first time with this kit and since it's been quite a while since I've made any pens, I decided up front that it wouldn't go in my collection but would replace the Zen I've been carrying for 6 months or so. (I really like the magnetic cap on the Zen so I expect I will really like using the heftier Magnetic Graduate. And, my favorite refill, Pilot G2 with a Broad tip, fit in it nicely without any modifications).

Anyhow, here are the pictures and thumbnails. - Dave

IMG_4101 Cropped.jpg

IMG_4093 Cropped.jpg
IMG_4094 Cropped 2.jpg
IMG_4095 Cropped.jpg
IMG_4096 Cropped.jpg
IMG_4097 Cropped.jpg
IMG_4098 Cropped.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_4094 Cropped.jpg
    IMG_4094 Cropped.jpg
    43.1 KB · Views: 55
Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

moke

It's a beautiful pen egnald....I have made a bunch of those recently, but I really don't like the tip and cone...it just seems klunky and uncomfortable. Don't get me wrong, your work is awesome as you always are...your fit and finish is perfect IMO, just commenting on the kit....