Wanted - Bespoke Tools

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Carrick20

Hi, my name is Carrick and I am 14 years old. I have been making pens for 3 years now and recently started turning closed end fountain pens as another step towards making bespoke pens which is really my goal.

I have been researching the many different tools I need and which taps and dies would be best suited for the pen I'm envisioning. I have decided that the M10X1.0 and M13X.8 would be the best taps and dies for me to start out with for the cap and body.

I am interested in purchasing an M10X1.0 tap and die set, M13X.8 tap and die set, and a tail stock tap and die holder (2MT) if there is anyone that is looking to sell these items.

I am aware that there are more parts and tools needed but I am starting here.

Thank you,
Carrick

P.S. My parents are aware of this post.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

howsitwork

Carrick

M10 x 1.0 is fairly readily available over here ( standard size used for glow plugs in diesel car engines so keep your eyes open. You can hold those well in a drill chuck on the lathe. Chronos and Arceuro tools do tailstock die holders at not bad prices too. The finer M13 taps I'm afraid I don't know maybe https://www2.theturnersworkshop.co.uk/offers.html maybe able to help but they're expensive.

Wishing you every success.

Ian

EricRN

There was a gent on here awhile back selling the triple start m13x.8 for a decent price. I think it was around $60 or so.

Dehn0045