Use for sketch pencils?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

angboy

I see lots of people making the sketch pencils and am wondering what people use them for or if you know what the people that buy/receive them use them for? I just personally wouldn't see myself using one, but then I hate pencils, so maybe that's just something weird about me. But I'm wondering if there would be a reason to start making them?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jthompson1995

I use mine at work and when sketching rough ideas and layouts of rooms, my shop and projects I am thinking up. I am a Landscape Architect and have sold a few of the pencils to other LAs and some architects. I have an advance order for 5 or 6 that my boss's wife will give as gifts to her architect co-workers for christmas.

It helps me when sketching to stay loose in the design and keep an open mind to different options (I design parks mainly, ballfields, paly areas, pavilions, etc.). It is somewhat impressive when you pull out the big pencil at a meeting and start going to town on the design (my current one is corn cob and always get people interested). It doesn't hurt to have something big that people notice, then tell them you made it, too. I've sold more than a few pens because of it.

Jason

clewless

Now, now, Angela, sit back, relax and tell us more about your dislike for pencils. Did it start in elementary school math class?
Was it Buzz that forced you to sharpen his pencils, over and over till you got them right? Do you have an aversion to erasers? Are you frightened by big, fat carpenters' pencils?

Hmm, maybe it would be a good idea for you to start making them...if you know the right Dr. they might be a tax deductible medical expense...[}:)][:D]

Intern Joe

wood-of-1kind

Originally posted by clewless
<br />
Hmm, maybe it would be a good idea for you to start making them...if you know the right Dr. they might be a tax deductible medical expense...[}:)][:D]