Turning to the bushings

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

SteveJD

I am new to penturning. I have turned about 9 pens with pretty good results. Mostly slimline wood and a couple of acrylics.
Just purchased a drill press vice for better blank drilling and a pen press for assemly (instead of a clamp).
My big issue is turning at the bushings which leaves the blank larger than the pen nib, center and end cap. I am using carbide tools and am timid about getting too close and hitting the bushings. Should I leave the ends proud of the bushings and then sand down to the them?
I am having a great time and can see how pen turning can be addictive.
Thanks for any advise on this.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

@SteveJD

I understand your concerns .... I like to leave my blanks just a little larger than the hardware parts that they butt up to.
In other words, just a little larger than the bushings.

By "a little larger" I mean about 0.005" or 0.006" larger in diameter .... that is after sanding.
So to do that requires fairly careful measuring with calipers as the turning .... and sanding .... is done.

Now .... having said that .... I must also say that I do not use bushings at all .... and no mandrel .
I do my pens by the "Turning Between Centers" method .... referred to as TBC, which you can read about here on IAP .... ther've been lots of threads.

All you need is a "dead center" in the headstock and a "live center" in the tailstock, and hold your blank between those while you turn, making frequent measurements as you get close to final size. . Lots of us do our pen turning by this method .... and now about drilling .... lots do the following ....

I should also mention that I do my pen blank drilling on the lathe .... I don't own a drill press. . Something for you to think about also.

TonyL