Turning technique

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

musicman

Hey Penturners,
I'm fairly new to making pens, and made about 20 so far. I've done fairly well with no real issues. Recently, I have been having an issue with turning one of the ends to the bushing. It's always the left side, and it seems as though the chisel gets pulled downward thus cutting a gouge in the work. I use a round carbide tip chisel from rockler. Im using a very light touch when I get this close to the bushing and this close to finishing turning. I'm able to repair it with ca glue, but I would like to know what is causing this issue so I can avoid it in the future. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• 20200421_145424.jpg
    20200421_145424.jpg
    203.5 KB · Views: 213
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

elyk864

Usually some sort of chatter due to the TBC being loose or the tube having an air pocket that allows the material to move ever so slightly. Make sure your carbide bit isn't loose either. Acrylic will do that if you get to aggressive on it.

SteveG

Do you readjust the tool rest closer to the work as you remove material? Also, since the issue happens on the L side only, try to analyze what you do different vs the R end of the blank. That difference may be your answer.

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Are you always turning left to right? The diameter of the pen gets greater, as you climb from the left. It will be safer to "turn downhill".

Suggestion from Steve is also good--make sure the tool rest is as close as possible. With a round carbide, you should have the tool horizontal, not angled up or down.

Hope one of these hits the problem on the head.

Ed

magpens

Also, since the issue happens on the L side only, try to analyze what you do different vs the R end of the blank. That difference may be your answer.