Turning between centers question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rob H

I just did my first TBC pen and it seems to work much better for me. Since I'm a newbie I am still doing the cheaper slimline 2 tube pens, my question is, after turning one do you finish 1 and then load the other and repeat, or do you turn them both and then put them on a normal mandrel and finish them at the same time?

Monty

Group Buy Coordinator
For me it depends on the finish. When I do a CA finish I like to let it cure over night. A lacquer or poly finish should also be allowed to cure before polishing.
A friction polish can be done right away.

Woodchipper

I finish both barrels at a time. Hindsight: I should have bought another pen mandrel instead of the long one. I do check for out-of-round with calipers by doing both at one time. CA: cure overnight as mentioned.

derekdd

Is there any advantage turning between centers instead of using a pen mandrel.
You don't get the flex from a mandrel so your turning is going to be more accurate.

I've not done it before but am tempted to on single barrel pens like Sierras.

egnald

Is there any advantage turning between centers instead of using a pen mandrel.
As with all tooling sets there are advantages and disadvantages. Among the advantages are improved concentricity. One disadvantage is that you can only turn 1 blank at a time -- not a problem if you are making single tube types, but for pens with two tubes it can be a little more cumbersome, not with turning so much as with applying finishes.