Turning a bowl and my new toy...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from sbarton22

sbarton22

So, I tried out my new EWT C-1 Rougher. Man, that thing is sick. It is like cutting butter. I completely feel like I am cheating. There is no fighting the wood or catches or kick backs.

I am glad I started learning with traditional gouges and skews, but man, this is a whole new world.

Now...if I could only figure out a good way to turn the foot on a bowl once I have the inside complete. I blew up another bowl. I turned a bowl to a razor thin edge and then tried to use my cole jaws to flip it and gently finish the foot. All that did was blow it up. It would not have mattered because I still dented the edge.

I guess I could have parted off the bowl at the tennon or some kind of jam chuck and a 60 degree point and turned it down to a nib and sanded that off.

I don't have that part of the process down yet. I think I will look for some vids on the subject?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JimB

So, I tried out my new EWT C-1 Rougher. Man, that thing is sick. It is like cutting butter. I completely feel like I am cheating. There is no fighting the wood or catches or kick backs.

I am glad I started learning with traditional gouges and skews, but man, this is a whole new world.

Now...if I could only figure out a good way to turn the foot on a bowl once I have the inside complete. I blew up another bowl. I turned a bowl to a razor thin edge and then tried to use my cole jaws to flip it and gently finish the foot. All that did was blow it up. It would not have mattered because I still dented the edge.

I guess I could have parted off the bowl at the tennon or some kind of jam chuck and a 60 degree point and turned it down to a nib and sanded that off.

I don't have that part of the process down yet. I think I will look for some vids on the subject?

That would have worked. You could also make a Doughnut Chuck. Thin wall turnings are very delicate.

sbarton22