Turned Display Box

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Linster

I have a friend who make kelidoscopes out of brass. He came to me last week to see if I could make him up some long cylindrical boxes to place the scopes in. He's looking for something with either a tounge and groove type closure or hinged. The boxes would need to be about 15" long and 1.75 - 2" in diameter. Of course the inside would have to be hollow.

Since I'm very new to turning, this is not a project I can do nor have a clue of how to go about making something like this. I thought I'd bring it to the group to see if anyone had any ideas or expertise to be able to make something like this that may want to take it on as a comissioned job. If you like, I could draw a sketch of something similar he looking for and post it if you aren't getting the idea from my decription.

Any thoughts?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JimGo

Linster,
Its above my abilities now too, but I saw something that might give you the instructions you need to do it. Check out YoYoSpin's club web site (http://www.yoyospin.com/ppw/), and then click on the lighthouse link. The instructions there are pretty good, and basically all you'd need to do is hollow out the "lighthouse" (and ditch the brass pins). Depending on the length and thickness of the kaleidoscope, you might be able to find an appropriately sized drill bit to simplify the hollowing. A lighthouse theme might make the box an interesting companion to the kaleidoscope (i.e. kind of like a telescope). It doesn't look like it would be TOO hard, especially if you started with some relatively simple tops, which you could also hinge using some small brass piano hinges.

If you choose to try it yourself, good luck, and please post the results!
------------