Tool Sharpening Questions

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Shoc

I am fairly new to turning. I have been using Easy Wood Tools up until now. However, recently I started using a traditional 1" roughing gouge and find it much better for rounding blanks.

I need to sharpen the roughing gouge and was wondering what the best way to that would be? I was thinking of purchasing a 6" bench grinder and the Wolverine jig system. Any thoughts?

Also, what should I be looking for in grinding wheels?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

Hi Steve,

I can't answer all your questions, but I think the consensus would be to buy an 8" grinder. If you are serious about the hobby, you might consider buying CBN wheels (about $200 each !!! but they last forever. There's a guy in Montreal that sells them. Let me know if you want his contact info.)

As for the Wolverine system ... I believe there was one offered a couple of days ago in one of the For-Sale forums here on IAP. Do a search of the site.

Also, as I recall, both Busy Bee Tools and Lee Valley sell it locally (or used to) and I think maybe BB had the better price on a sale not too long ago.

Mal

Edgar

New Member Advocate
Staff member
Like most anything else with this hobby, there's almost as many ways to tackle sharpening as there are turners.

The Wolverine system is a good way to get consistent grinds on your tools and you can make similar jigs yourself.