Tool rest Question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ekeogh

As I am new to wood turning I just purchased a mini lathe for pen turning it's a 10x18 mini lathe and the problem that I am having is positioning the tool rest in relation to the spindle, since I am working on relatively thin stock 3/4" thick I can't seem to lower the rest to a suitable height because the cam locking lever is too long and keeps bumping into the tool rest.

Any suggestions

Attachments

• 2B88ADB5-F633-44AC-B1E1-A6C73C95D608.jpeg
    2B88ADB5-F633-44AC-B1E1-A6C73C95D608.jpeg
    209.7 KB · Views: 258
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

egnald

Greetings from Nebraska. The photo you attached shows a ratcheting locking lever. Perhaps I am misunderstanding the problem, but you should be able to pull out on the handle and re-position it to avoid hitting anything (i.e. the ratcheting function of the leaver). Regards, Dave (egnald)

JimB

The handle that locks the tool rest in place is adjustable. It is spring loaded. Pull it out, to the right in the pic, and move it to a new position.

Hey Ed, 3/4" blanks are pretty standard in size and almost every pen I turn is that size. There are a few kits out there that require bigger blanks but most a 3/4" blank is more than enough.

ekeogh

The handle that locks the tool rest in place is adjustable. It is spring loaded. Pull it out, to the right in the pic, and move it to a new position.

i know that but my problem is the lower I lower the actual tool rest the locking lever bumps into it.. I know that I can reposition the body that slides on the lathe bed but because I'm turning 5" pieces of wood when I engage the rail stock Idont have any room to reposition the tool rest base that slides I hope I'm making sense

darrin1200

Can you take a picture of your lathe and where everything is positioned. It may make it easier to understand you problem.