Thinnest viscosity casting resin

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

frank123

I have limited experience with different resins but have a potential experiment I'm thinking of involving molding completed fountain pen bodies and caps that only need final fitting and finishing and am wondering if anyone knows which casting resin has the thinnest consistency and also maybe which of the resins produce the least heat when curing.

It's a 3D printing mold making from CAD designed parts if anyone is wondering what it may be used for.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

howsitwork

Well over here (Uk)

glass cast 50:10 is thin but I would anticipate maybe issues with air bubbles , although it does seem to de gas itself fairly well due to long curing time.

egnald

Although I have not used it myself, I have heard that Liquid Diamonds has a very low viscosity, low enough that it remains relatively bubble free even without using a pressure pot. I'm sure there must be others on the forum that have much more experience with the resins than I do though. - Dave

Kenny Durrant

I've used Liquid Diamonds snd it's a very thin resin. I tried without pressure and there were still bubbles. You need a magnifying glass or bright light to see them but they were there. My problem was that it always yellowed. There are better resins for what your doing you just need to be careful handling the bubble issues.

You're venturing into the realm of real plastics manufacturing. Injection molding to be precise... Which pretty much rules out any of the standard hobby resins. I mean, you can fiddle with making a mold and playing with the available stuff but I don't think epoxy is going to be a good option at all for a number of reasons. Pretty much all of the hobby ones have VERY low heat deflection and a pen left in a car in summer would wilt as an example.