The State of Pen Making?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jttheclockman

I believe many years ago I asked this same question so maybe it is time to revisit it. Where has the state of pen making gone and where is it heading? I will include some of my thoughts here and hopefully others will chime in. I have been turning pens for about 20 years now, basically when I joined this site. I have seen the progress of many styles of pens such as ballpoint, rollerballs and fountain pens. I have seen the evolution of blank making to go with these pen kits such as segmenting, casting, laser work, and so on. Also seen more custom pen making such as kitless pens and developing of stainless steel designs. Seen many new platings come upon the scenes, some good and some not so good. Seen many different themed pen kits that seem to be growing more and more. Seen many new ways to treat the outside of pens including woods and acrylics. Seen different products come along designed for casting. In the blank making world, seen many new ideas and also ways to create these ideas such a 3d printing, laser work, cutting segmenting with the use of various tools and so on. Seen pen kits evolve in the way they try to improve things such as click mechanisms, ink refills, ways to extract the refill such as twisting ways, or bolt action and so forth.