The Perfect Finish

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Dear fellow penturners,
I've been turning pens for 10 years and have tried every type of finish and every new product that guarantees the best finish ever. After retiring from a career in science I want to objectively answer the question, what yields the best finish? Specifically I am looking at the best finish for casted pens and those wood pens with a ca finish. my end point is simple. I'll be using a high quality stereo microscope to quantify the amount and type of scratches seen when one variable is changed. For example wet vs dry sanding, type of ca or sandpaper, different polishing compound, etc. Mark Dryer has been kind enough to put me on the program at the Midwest Penturner Gathering next month To discuss some of the preliminary findings. To that end I'm trying to collect as much information that I can from you guys as to what is important to you and how do you do it. This will give me a lot of background info and point me in further directions for study. If you would click on the following link to access a brief questionnaire I'd be most appreciativ. Thanks in advance for your help.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jttheclockman

Well Steve I won't fill out the questionnaire because there are too many variables with most your questions. but will give some of my thoughts here and these are just my thoughts and what I strive for and I have been making pens for over 15 years and sell them at shows and give away quite a few over the years. Just thought I would start with that statement to give a little background of what I am about to say. Would also like to point out that finishing is just one part of making and producing "A" quality pens. Other factors are fit, blank selection, kit chosen and matching of blank and kit and so forth.

To me there is no such thing as a perfect finish to an item that gets handled as much as it does.