Teaser photographs for photography manual

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Jdubfudge

069ea2c74e0467ad240e97de8c517fd2.jpg

68ce676f3fb8e19effa33120e728996b.jpg

These are some photographs I made tonight using my setup, which I'll explain in the manual. In addition to equipment and techniques, I'll explain color theory and how different colors impact mood. Being that some of you guys sell your pens (I'm new to turning and haven't started selling my stuff yet) it's important to understand how color has a psychological impact to the viewer and hopefully buyer.

This setup was one speedlight flash that was positioned off camera. I used a reflector adjacent to the flash to fill in the shadows. The pen and camera position was not changed. For the backdrop, I used 12" x 12" craft paper, which is typically used for scrap booking. The photograph was also shot using a point and shoot camera. There was no editing done to the image on a computer. I downloaded the photographs over wifi from my camera to my cell phone, cropped square and uploaded.

The pen is made out some acacia from George's.

In addition to technique and theory, in the manual I'm going to have an inspiration section. In this section, I'll have photographs with both only an explanation on equipment, settings and position, but photographs of my setup so anyone can try to recreate it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

SteveG

I am thinking about two types of pen pics I have seen that would be nice for me to be able to accomplish. One is a photo where the backdrop is completely black. All you see is the pen. The other is the look of the pen being seen plus a complete reflection also. That is a real nice look for some pen photos. Can we see these techniques in the upcoming manual? This photo manual dedicated to pen photography is a great idea! :good::good:

Jdubfudge