TBC questions

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Woodchipper

I have a 60 degree live center for the tailstock and a 60 degree dead center for the headstock. So far, so good in turning a couple of blanks. I noticed some brass dust on the centers after turning. I'm thinking that the blank was slipping a bit. I don't want to tighten the quill too much to expand the tube. I'm not using TBC bushings- is this necessary? I have watched some videos where bushings were used and some that didn't use them. Your help is most appreciated. BTW, calipers are getting a good workout with TBC!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

turncrazy43

Try the PSI turn between centers jig. About $30. They allow you to use standard bushings. Includes a dead center and live center.
Turncrazy43

Woodchipper

Already have the DC and LC so that would be duplicating what I have. Will take a look at it, though. Might be a good Christmas present for the wife.
Edit-is this what you mention? If so, I'm trying to get away from bushings altogether. I have some kits that require bushings that I don't have.
https://www.pennstateind.com/store/PKMBCM2.html

Last edited:

Curly

That is the essence of turning between centres. You keep just enough pressure to turn the blank on the cones. It does mean of course you need to be able to cut with very light cutting forces and not brute your way through. I don't use scraping methods, preferring the skew or a gouge. When you have the touch you will have a very light chamfer but not flared end and there may be a little brass on the centre. You can use normal bushings directly on the cone centres to get most of the rounding and rough turning done and then remove them to finish in just the centres. That way the poorer quality mandrel bushing out of roundness won't affect the finished product.

Woodchipper