TBC + Light Sanding + New Lathe still equals out of round on the nib end

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

RunnerVince

Hi all,

I've been making pens for a couple years now, and at first I had a lot of trouble with the blanks not truly fitting with the hardware. I've made quite a bit of progress, but I'm still having issues getting that perfect fit.

The odd thing is that it's really just on the nib end. The clip end of the pen usually has a little more tolerance because the clip goes between the cap and the blank, but even so, I've been getting a really good fit. And I can get a very nice transition between the center band and the blank on two-piece pens. But I'm consistenly getting a poor fit at the nib end. The transition will be great on one side, but rotate 180 degrees to the opposite side and you can feel that the tip is proud of the blank by maybe 1/32" or 1/64". It's not someone who doesn't make pens would think was even a problem, but it's driving me insane. If it were simply my inability to get the size correct, I'd just leave the blank slightly larger and sand/skew in a bevel to meet the tip piece, but it's more than that.

Here's what I've done:
  • I've checked the alignment between headstock and tailstock. With my drive spur and live center, the points line up perfectly.
  • I started with a "mandrel saver" setup that supposedly would put pressure only on the bushings, not the mandrel. I had the same problem with my original MT1 mandrel and the second MT2 mandrel saver I got for my new lathe. I've since moved to a TBC setup from PSI.
  • I've added more patience to my sanding, and I now sand with as little pressure as I can. With the lathe running, I can't "feel" the blank is out of round.
  • I upgraded from my 65-year-old Craftsman monotube to a brand new Rikon. (Not to solve this problem but because it was just time.)
  • I've stopped relying on the bushings and started using calipers to get to the exact dimensions.