Supplier differences

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Bope

I am new to pen turning so I have only used some slimline and funline kits from PSI. Now that me and the kids are hooked I am looking at other pen kits. My question is what are the differences from one supplier to the next? Is there a difference between a $3 slimline from PSI versus a $6 streamline from Berea? Looking at several suppliers it looks like they all have similar pens they just give them different names and prices.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

acmaclaren

Angi the Maker
I tried turning kits that suppliers only had on their website. After trying out a few I found the ones I liked best. For example, I get my deer hunter and steampunk kits from PSI. I like the look of the Sierra Nomad from Berea Hardwoods, which really is the same as PSI's Gatsby. However, PSI doesn't offer it. I think you need to look around at all the suppliers and look at the kits they offer and make note of the price for a single kit as well as bulk discount. All my pens either go to Pens for Troops or are gifts. I hope this helps.

I've ordered pen kits from several different suppliers and I'm amazed at how many of them have PSI markings on the plastic bags. Some even use the PSI catalog number but change a few characters to make it look like their own brand. My last order was with EB and everything was great, including the M&Ms.

MRDucks2

There are only a few who are in the manufacturing end of the supply chain, some with suppliers from the Far East, some European, a few American. Many resellers (most of those we deal with) buy in quantity from these suppliers at wholesale prices. Exotic blanks, for example, the splits the difference keeping their margins where they need them while trying to lower the mark-up to us. This, a lot of people re-sell PSI stuff.