Stabilizing Question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

KenB259

I am relatively new to the stabilizing game, but I've been very successful and happy with my results. This is my question though, I see posts, not here, mainly Facebook, where someone will says things like, " I baked it for 4 days, had it under vacuum for a week and then let it soak a month". My question is simply, why? I'm thinking you started out with something that didn't need stabilizing. Only thing I can think of is they wanted to dye it, but most of what I see was just done with clear resin. What am I missing?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

MRDucks2

I don't think you are missing anything.

There is at least one you tube person who promotes his lengthy process for stabilizing as being ideal because he bakes longer, draws vacuum longer, soaks longer and cures longer. Good for him but it is simply longer, wasting time and energy. He likely decided to go that route to make up for other shortfalls in his process.

That is likely what others are doing, also. If you dry something forever you don't have to check to see if it is dry. If you draw vacuum forever you don't have to watch for bubbles. If you soak forever you don't have to time or monitor your resin update. If you cure forever you can hope it made some kinda of difference (CJ really doesn't work like that that).

Oh, and I have no idea where the tendency to stabilize everything has come from. We have had members do the same here. I guess it can be a marketing thing and generate more margin or just make them feel better as most good wood simply takes very little juice. The "I stabilize everything" really makes little sense.

leehljp

Member Liaison