Stabilizing old barn wood blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

widwotkma

I have been asked to make pens from a piece of white oak salvaged from a 150+ year old barn. The wood is very hard and very dry, not punky. I cut the piece of wood into 8 pen blanks, but as you can see in the attached picture, each piece has numerous checks and cracks that need to be stabilized before turning.

IMG_2599.jpg

What is the best method to stabilize them? From what I understand, stabilization under a vacuum with Cactus Juice is more for use in punky wood and not as a void filler. So I think I'm looking at a pressure-based process using epoxy or some other type of filler. Is that correct? I am new to the whole stabilization process and want to make sure I don't ruin the blanks, which have sentimental value to the requester. Suggestions?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Monty

Group Buy Coordinator
You can use just thin CA to fill the voids or even sand some of the wood, fill the voids with the sanding dust and then use thin CA to glue the dust in place.

MRDucks2

Having turned a lot of old barn wood, I agree with Monty. That wood should turn pretty well with sharp tools and a light touch around the cracks and checks, especially if filled with CA.

With the wood being relatively solid over all, you may find that pressure casting will not get resin everywhere you need it. Should you choose to go that route, I would recommend turning round and close to size before casting in order to get more resin where you need it for the finished product.

RKB

Wow, those blanks look great. Be sure to post pictures of the finished product.. Good Luck with your project.

Rod

RobS

Those cracks are too big for stabilizing, either A go the CA thin-medium-thick route to fill or pressure cast with alumilite to fill the cracks.

greenacres2