Stabilised hybrid box blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Hello folks

I have been casting for a couple of years now, my biggest passion is making boxes and hybrid box blanks and i normally use the really spiky natural edge Australian burr caps as native u.k burr's are very tricky to get hold of.

On one of my recent trips to buy some logs at a tree surgeons yard I spotted a horse chestnut trunk/butt with lots of burr's on it.

I cut a few inches of the end of the log and it had gone really soft and punky so I asked if i could just cut the burr's off as I figured that they might have stayed a bit firmer.... and he said yes

Unfortunatley the burr's were/are too soft but very very pretty figureing with a mixture of spalting and burr.
I decided to try stabilising and built a vacum chamber and bought some cactus juice from Curtis.

these are some of my first box blanks made with the stabilised burr horse chestnut.

A big thank you to Curtis at Turntex woodowrks for his help and support

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

SteveG

Hey George, I am way too old and grumpy to be a groupie, but I am definitely a fan. You just do such great work! I have a few resin/wood box blanks here, just waiting for me to venture in. I have turned one small vessel, but without the "hollow" part, just to get the feel for turning something of the general size and shape. Thanks for the inspiration.

plantman

Fantastic colors and grain patterns George !! I think that turning them into a larger object than a pen blank add to, and shows off, the beauty of the wood much better. Great find. Jim S

JohnU

They all look great George! My favorite is the fist one. Great color and character. A nice find put to very good use!

robutacion

Great work George, I'm amazed how that burled wood looks extremely similar to my Tortuosa Willow Burl, if you hadn't shown the trunk and tell us what it is, I would swear those boxes were made with my wood that, is also soft as you pointed out...!