South Texas Newbie

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Cmiles1985

Hello Everyone!

I'm a newbie to the forum, as well as to pen turning. I liked the idea of turning a chunk of wood into so much more, so I am teaching myself the fine art of woodturning. In an effort to not start off with a huge investment, I bought a "used" lathe on Craigslist. It's a PSI XL40-2 that the guy bought new in '92 and never used. Now that I know I enjoy turning, I am thinking of getting a PSI Turncrafter 12" VS. I found this forum by looking at reviews of said lathe. The lathe I've got works great, but I am sharing my one-car garage as a hobby area with my wife and her jewelry making, so a smaller footprint makes sense.

I'm glad to have found this forum and look forward to chatting with y'all!

By the way, I have turned a whopping three pens to date (I bought a starter kit from Rockler). I am happy with the results and see lots of room for improvement.

Good day!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Turned Around

Welcome

Glad you got your first few pens under your belt. And there's always room for improvement. I don't think I've heard anybody say "perfect" about their own work so far.

Cmiles1985

Thanks for the warm welcome everyone! I'll get some pics of these pens up soon! I have been out in the garage working on a nice pink ivory pen/pencil set for my wife. My expected delivery from Woodturningz showed up :) Maybe I've gone dumb, and it's been a long while since I've been on a forum. Does a photo still need to be linked through an external host (i.e. PhotoBucket)? iPhones weren't around the last time I was active on a forum. Now all of my turning projects (and scrollsaw projects) are saved to my phone.

Thanks again!

Cmiles1985

I read the how to, did some tooling around and figured out photos and resizing on iPhone. I have uploaded my turnings (minus my Bubinga slimline pen that I've been using daily). I'll post them to this thread shortly!

Cmiles1985

index.php

flyitfast