Something from scrap

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

CjG78

G'day!
Found this peg at work in the rubbish pile. Surveyor's peg. I work in construction and see alot of things go to waste. Alot of the pegs are uninteresting but this piece caught my eye. I have no idea of the variety. It had a pleasant sweet fruity smell, quite an open grain and somewhere between a hardwood and semi hardwood.
I was pleasantly surprised with the rich red colour that appeared when I took a slice!
The pic of the raw piece and turned piece has linseed oil applied to show the final colour. I do that with most blanks that I turn round, to see if I Like it enough to use.

Fully sleeved with epoxy, abalone coin in the cap finial, Jowo #6 nib and CA finish.
Thanks for looking!
(Crappy indoor pics, sorry)
Casey.

Attachments

• 20210905_210524.jpg
    20210905_210524.jpg
    302.5 KB · Views: 192
  • 20210905_210609.jpg
    20210905_210609.jpg
    245.1 KB · Views: 197
  • 20210905_210653.jpg
    20210905_210653.jpg
    334.5 KB · Views: 197
  • 20210905_210724.jpg
    20210905_210724.jpg
    248.2 KB · Views: 205
  • Screenshot_20210905-213108_Messenger.jpg
    Screenshot_20210905-213108_Messenger.jpg
    495.6 KB · Views: 184
  • Screenshot_20210905-213132_Messenger.jpg
    Screenshot_20210905-213132_Messenger.jpg
    277 KB · Views: 208
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Kenny Durrant

Very nice. I see your in Australia. The reason I looked is that several years ago I was told to go to furniture stores and look at their pallets. They said when they receive items from out of the country, the country of origin will use whatever wood they have available to make the pallets. Just curious if that's the case with what you found. Common wood to some may be harder to get for others. It a very pretty pen and so is the cutoff.

Fred Bruche