Some Lessons Learned About Jigs and Metal Inserts

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Fine Engineer

I'm still new at this and exploring the nearly unlimited things we can do with these small projects. In making some blanks for Christmas presents, and exploring some different metal inserts, I had some successes, and a pretty significant failure. But those are what we learn most from, right?

So first the successes. I made a couple of pens with a thin metal inlay in them. The first was kind of a mess, but the second one came out much closer to what I was trying to do.
1127211313.jpg
I tried making the 'V' cuts freehand on the band saw, and the intersecting bits just didn't line up well. What was needed was a jig to improve the precision. So Last weekend, I came up with this; A simple 45Ā° fence and a rail to fit in the groove on the table. I set the end stop by using a sacrificial blank and slowly moved up the stop until the cuts from each side met cleanly in the middle. This was still a little fidgety, so I'll ultimately make something that will be drastically over engineered and complicated, but this works for now.
1205211413a.jpg

It's very simple, but it did do a good job of allowing me to make repeatable cuts. Here are the blanks that I put together using thsi jig;
1205211416.jpg

I was able to make 6 of each of these with a high degree of precision. Pen kits are on there way, so I'll be turning these next weekend.
From my earlier project, I found that you don't even notice the thin aluminum (soda can metal) when turning. And this is what brings me to the failure.