Sitting while turning

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

leehljp

Member Liaison
I have a stool that I use sometimes and using it more often now. And there have been others that have done it in the past. There are even platforms for a few lathes that tilt the lathe so that the turner can sit, and developed more specifically for handicapped in wheel chairs.

dogcatcher

I have my lathe mounted on a standard height desk, I sit on a bar stool while turning. I have been doing this for over 20 years. Compression of the spinal cord left me in a wheelchair in 1999, a good Doctor got me into surgery, and a great Physical Therapist spent 6 months working to get me able to use a walker. The stool is perfect for to halfway sit on and work on the lathe. All of my tools are set to the height that a stool allows me to be comfortable using them. With support, I can stand for a few minutes, but the stool makes it safer.

Mikeyt

I made a work table about 17"-18" from the floor with wheels and I am able to sit down while turning helps a lot on my back and feet able to sit there and turn. I did it with a metal lathe and then with my rikon wood lathe was a great help just measured what I needed sitting down and went from there. It took about a weekend to cut the plywood and put together with pocket hole screws. Then paint. The first one I did was ok but smaller then I thought I was going to need so I made a second one a little longer on the sides and works great.
I sit on an office chair and can make the chair go higher if needed have had no issues.

Sent from my iPhone using Penturners.org mobile app