Since there are no stupid questions.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

WriteON

I'm using Tac 7 hearing protectors. Must be 20 years old. Do hearing protector lose their value. Do they not protect as they should after years of using/sitting. Does whatever is inside of them deteriorate? Thanks, Frank

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jttheclockman

I'm using Tac 7 hearing protectors. Must be 20 years old. Do hearing protector lose their value. Do they not protect as they should after years of using/sitting. Does whatever is inside of them deteriorate? Thanks, Frank
No I would say not unless the material used is suspect to drying out such as leathers. But today they use synthetic materials so no. What gets lost is hearing if the protection is not used even for short bursts and laziness to grab some because of a small project. being I worked in construction for over 43 years I leaned on safety equipment and many times bought my own even though many jobs supplied basic things. Hearing, eyes, and lungs are the big ones.

sorcerertd

This made me think of a joke I saw a while back

I golfed with a hilarious 78 year old man, and he was dishing out life tips the whole time. Definitely one of the most laid back guys I've ever met. He tells me after the round "don't talk to me in the parking lot, my wife is picking me up and she thinks I went deaf 5 years ago." What a legend.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Regarding ear plugs, I am still using some I got while I was on a Navy ship in the 1980s. They work great and are easy to clean. Sometimes I just put in some bluetooth earbuds and listen to music.

WriteON

What gets lost is hearing if the protection is not used even for short bursts and laziness to grab some because of a small project.