Shopping around for the shop

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Darrin

I've been having a real hard time deciding what to add to my shop.
I run a machine shop as my full time job, and want to add a metal lathe here at home.
I also have been heavily eyeing a newer wood lathe made by a UK company.
I can only buy one.
Being a machinist I think I can start making kitless pens on a good wood lathe, but I can also do that on a metal lathe for sections and other parts.
These are my 2021 problems on Jan 1st.
What would you do?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

Yessir !!!

Metal lathe wins ..... "hands down", in my opinion !!

Let me "twist" your own words, just a little bit .......

"Being a machinist I think I can start making kitless pens on " a metal lathe a lot sooner and a lot better !! :D :D :D

Of course, it does depend on what else you want to make besides pens. . A metal lathe is not so good for doing bowls, altho' it can be made to work.

OK .... I'll keep quiet now !!

jttheclockman

I don't plan on making any metal parts for my pens, but I like having the option there for other things.
You are answering your own question. Get a good quality metal lathe. I hear many times on here though do not go small. Look through some past threads here on the subject and you will find lots of good info.

peter1958

My thing is wood, so i got a big wood lathe, 2.2 meters (90 inches?) between centers, copy lathe. centerhight 25 cm (10 inches)
Hapfo german quality brand. I was searching for a better lathe some years ago, this one came by on machineseeker.com.
The owner lives 500 km from me 310 miles or so.
It took some time before i bought it, always in doubt, to high price and that kind of things.
Then i forgot about it, and 6 months later the owner mailed me if i still was interested. He lowered the price so i couldn't say no.