Sharpening Questions

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Twindaddy813

Hey guys, I hope I am in the right area for this so if I am not please let me know where I need to be. I am new here and new to pen turning but I am in love! I have a couple of questions about tool sharpening. First off I keep reading about slow speed grinders, some people say this is a must for sharpening while others say you can use any grinder. What is your opinion on this? I have a regular 6" bench grinder I have had forever but I have no problem adding another to my shop if it is really needed. Also, I have seen some wet stone grinders, do they make a huge difference in sharpening? My last question is I have been told to get a Friable Norton grinding wheel, I have looked them up and there are several different grits for the wheels, Is there a universal wheel I can use or do I need to get a few different ones for sharpening? I hope I am not to confusing with these questions, like I said I am very new to this craft and I want to learn as much as possible. I am currently unable to get out in my shop for the next few weeks I just had my second back surgery in the past year, so I figured I will use this time to study up and get things in order so as soon as I can get back at it I will have a lot more knowledge to move forward with. Thank you for any help or information you can give me.

James

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

monophoto

James

There are a lot of aspects of turning that are subject to personal opinion. Ultimately, there is no one absolutely correct way to do things - although some people would have you believe that the only way that something can be done is by using THEIR favorite approach.

1. A high-speed grinder will remove metal more quickly than a slow speed grinder. If you are practiced at sharpening tools and have a light hand, a high speed grinder can be used. But some people do prefer slow speed grinders.

2. Wet grinders are nice to have. They aren't necessary.