Scalloped bronze overlay fountain pen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from jalbert

jalbert

I started playing around with bronze casting again, this weekend. I got this new "transparent bronze" color acrylic, so I figured I should pair it with bronze hardware. I carved the clip and overlay from wax, and then cast them in bronze. I spent hours carving the overlay to minimize post-casting cleanup, however it still required a bit of sculpting and cleanup. The pen's about 5.25" long. I cut triple lead threads for the cap, and since the overlay has the scallops spaced 120 degrees apart, the clip lines up with a scallop no matter how you put the cap on. It uses a jowo 6 nib. Rose gold plating would probably match better, however I don't have any on me, so I had to use a stock gold plated nib.
53D40F66-5D20-4A72-B748-A3C8F1EDCD66.jpeg
6FE82251-57F5-4B69-9946-9171315FA524.jpeg
5CB63DB1-F096-46AD-A5D7-BA48A92E4275.jpeg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jalbert

Why on earth didn't you enter any of the contests? My gosh man that is a real work of art. Just beyond beautiful
I've been wondering the same thing. His work is hands-down one of my favorites on this site. Maybe the competition wouldn't be fair ;)--his work is also pretty recognizable.
Ha! Thanks you two. I didn't have anything cool enough to enter in time!

Fred Bruche

I've been wondering the same thing. His work is hands-down one of my favorites on this site. Maybe the competition wouldn't be fair ;)--his work is also pretty recognizable.
That and John is boxing in a different category. When one gets $1000+ selling a commissioned pen, does one really care about winning a BOB? 😅
A lot of pen Masters that reach that level don't have time to post their creations here, I for one truly appreciate the inspiration John keeps sharing here.

jalbert

That and John is boxing in a different category. When one gets $1000+ selling a commissioned pen, does one really care about winning a BOB? 😅