Rings on the pen?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

theHullTurn

Since im still new to pen turning this may be an obvious question i just dont know about it yet :tongue:

I made a pen recently and there are darker and lighter rings around it. Maybe about 1/2 CM wide. I doubt its the wood. Is it from my sanding technique? any ideas? I dont think its from sanding because my other pens dont have the rings.

Thanks for the help in advance,
Jarvis

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bobjackson

Passed Away Mar 5, 2020
In Memoriam
Nathan
I sand with the lathe oh high speed. After each grit I stop the lathe and sand by hand in the direction of the grain to remove any circular sanding marks. Could be your problem.

Can you post a picture of an example of your issue? Many of us add rings on purpose, so just what it is you dont like could be what some of us call design opportunities.
My guess is, if its not curl in the wood, you have gouges in the wood that werent sanded out completely. As above, this is where you sand the length of the barrel, however, I sand a low rate of speed as I get burn marks from sanding too fast, could that be your problem? You may need to use a block to support the sand paper to get a flat surface.

Last edited:

randyrls

Nathan; The sanding technique I use is to sand with each grit:

For each grit sand with lathe on.
Turn off the lathe and sand lengthwise.
Wipe down both the sandpaper and blank (water for acrylics, Denatured Alcohol "DNA" for wood).
Turn lathe back on, and sand with next grit.

RussFairfield

Passed Away 2011
In Memoriam
If it isn't the wood, and it isn't the sanding, it could be that you aren't getting a full wet and consistant coating of the finish. This can be a problem with a CA finish .

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Could also be heat generated on some finishes,

The "could-be's" are lengthy. Post a pic, it will help.