Ridgid planer issue

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dale Allen

This is more of a concern for those who also make furniture.
I'm an amateur at this but really enjoy it. I don't make many pens anymore. Got enough for now.
Anyway, I have never been overly impressed with my 13" planer and have bought 5 or 6 sets of knives over the years.
So, I saw a video of someone who made a sharpening fixture for them.
I know, I know, they are disposable and cannot be sharpened...............but I did.
Anyway, I lapped the back to make the back edges smooth and the fixture lets me use a 350/1200 diamond stone to renew the angled edge.

Interestingly, after installing the sharpened blades, it no longer leaves any snipe and the surface is much smoother.
Also, the shavings are a lot smaller and lighter.
The issue is of course a 'good thing' in that the surface is much better.
Question is, am I asking for trouble? Also, in what way would this have eliminated the snipe?
I never take deep cuts with it but prefer to make more passes with light cuts.
I've been using some figured maple and curly cherry lately for builds and had a lot of tearout.
I ran multiple pieces of the curly cherry through it and it is finish ready. I would not even consider sanding it.

I would appreciate your comments, just don't be too harsh!
Thanks
Dale

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

KMCloonan

It sounds like you may have put a sharper edge on the blades than they originally came with. My only concern would be keeping them that sharp. It sounds like the finish you get from the planing is awesome. As for the snipe, I have found that usually to be more of the outfeed table being a little lower (or higher?) than the infeed table. I don't know if you had to move/adjust either infeed or outfeed table when you removed the cutters.

Dale Allen