Removing Glued Tubes

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Ed Weingarden

I'm new to pen turning. I drilled and glued the brass tubes in a number of acrylic blanks, which are waiting to be turned. As I've been reading and watching Youtubes on various techniques, I've learned that painting the inside of the drilled acrylic blanks is a good technique to prevent the brass tube from showing through. Is there any way to de-glue and remove the tubes that I've already glued into blanks, without destroying them? They are glued with CA. Thanks.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

WriteON

Not every tube has to be painted. The tube will not not necessarily show through. Before trying to separate them experiment with what you have. I'll drill a blank and trial fit a tube. If it's questionable it'll get painted otherwise I'll skip painting. (More crap to breath and deal with). If you have cut offs from the blanks you are working with try to determine if they really need to be painted. Insert a brass tube hold up to a light or sunlight.

KMCloonan

I would also caution that Acetone is a powerful solvent, (it's nail polish remover) and could very possibly dissolve your blank in addition to the glue.

I agree with Frank (WriteON) that not all blanks need to be painted. Mostly blanks with translucent resins or light colored resins benefit from painting. I use craft acrylic paint (no fumes) and a Q-tip to paint my tubes.

I see Edgar responded the same time as me, with the same message...

Edgar

New Member Advocate
Staff member
Acetone is likely to dissolve your plastic blank. If you have a cutoff of the same blank, drop it in acetone & leave it overnight for a test before trying it on your good blanks.

If you have spare tubes, you can try drilling out the tube. Also, if you have a tight fitting drill bit for the tube, you might be able to spin it out. Hear from friction wi likely break the CA bond.