Rainbow Herringbone

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Angela S

Angela S

This is my first attempt at a rainbow herringbone. Not really happy with the results. At a quick glass it is cool, but upon any inspection you can see the many flaws in the herringbone. C&C always appreciated.
D9E748C9-4860-4D97-869D-816DEE9E19DA.jpeg
2946A9A8-7301-4B3A-8A98-1E0F0BB07451.jpeg
2A82EC39-412A-484C-8B0B-FFD802227C5D.jpeg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
I love the colors Angela. Way cool.

Just a thought for you to consider. You can get the colored veneers to totally surround the segments if you desire. My dimensions are not the same, but I think you'll understand the process. Basically you glue-up one side, or both with the colored veneer. The you cut the segments and glue-up the other sides. I then alternated the segments, one with the veneers, on without. You would need to play with the color combinations and the sides that are needing the veneers, but it's very doable.

Well done in any case. I love what you are doing.

Attachments

• IMG_0249.jpg
    IMG_0249.jpg
    173.8 KB · Views: 198
  • IMG_0250.jpg
    IMG_0250.jpg
    192.3 KB · Views: 185
  • IMG_0251.jpg
    IMG_0251.jpg
    374.7 KB · Views: 237
  • IMG_0252.jpg
    IMG_0252.jpg
    183.9 KB · Views: 208
  • IMG_0253.JPG
    IMG_0253.JPG
    209.3 KB · Views: 213
  • IMG_0257.JPG
    IMG_0257.JPG
    169.6 KB · Views: 192
  • IMG_0265.jpg
    IMG_0265.jpg
    163.8 KB · Views: 210
  • IMG_0269.jpg
    IMG_0269.jpg
    93.6 KB · Views: 196

KenB259

I think it looks pretty good. I have made a few herringbone designs but to be honest, I didn't enjoy the process. I think it is very true that we are our own worse critic. That's how we get better though.

Sent from my iPad using Penturners.org mobile app

magpens

Angela, I like that rainbow herringbone idea. . Thanks for posting your resulting pen !!!

What is the main wood in that pen, please ?