Question for finishing acrylic pens

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mcpesq817

I'm very new to this, and am about to start with some acrylic pens this weekend. Unfortunately I have a Sherline lathe with 8" between centers which has been tricky to say the least to figure out how to drill blanks, etc. But, I think I've found a solution for drilling, and I have a mandrel that seems to fit the lathe for turning, so I think I'm on my way.

For buffing though, I don't think that I can fit the 2-wheel and 3-wheel Gross/Beall system on my lathe because I don't have enough clearance to the bed to accommodate 4" wheels. I've seen stand-alone units like this one from PSI and a few other small ones like from HF, Jet, etc.:

https://www.pennstateind.com/store/PROBUFF.html

Rather than buy another machine, is it possible to buy polishing wheels for my Dewalt 6" bench grinder? The speed seems a little high, but also seems to run high on some of the other polishing units. It is this unit:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0000224J3/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00__o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Does anyone use a bench grinder with buffing wheels? Any recommendations on which wheels I should be looking at? There are so many options and applications out there that I'm a bit lost as to where to start.

Thanks very much in advance!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bgio13

I don't use my buffer on acrylic pens. I wet sand with 600 paper, then move to wet Abralon pads up to 4000. Novus 2 & 3 and finally finish with Meguires PlastiX. This is what works for me, hope this helps.
P.S. I think the speed is too high on the bench grinders, you might end up actually burning the acrylic.

Bill

Last edited:

dogcatcher