Question about Vaccum Pot

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Schkeeters

I am just getting into casting PR planks, and I built the HF Vaccum and Pressure pot. I happend to have an old 1hp Vaccum pump that I thought would be more than enough to pull vaccum with. I hooked it up and tested the pot and it held 50 PSI for 24 hrs. Today I hooked my Hilti vaccum pump up, and it would only pull down to about 26 HG, but it would do it in about 15 seconds... Two questions...
1) Why is this huge pump only able to pull 25HG when I have heard of the vaccum block pulling 30?
2) Will 25HG be enough for stabilizing and degassing PR?

Thanks for your help on this,
ds

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

its_virgil

Dan,
(1) I don't know.[:0]
(2) Yes!:D Actually less will work. When I had the clear plexiglass top on my vacuum chamber so I could watch, the resin would begin to bubble (the gas escaping) before 25 hg was reached.

I no longer use vacuum, but degass using an ultrasonic jewelery cleaner and I'm convinced it works just as well if not better and is much easier to do.

Do a good turn daily!
Don

Originally posted by Schkeeters

1) Why is this huge pump only able to pull 25HG when I have heard of the vaccum block pulling 30?
2) Will 25HG be enough for stabilizing and degassing PR?

Thanks for your help on this,
ds

gketell

Local Chapter Leader
It also depends on your relative height above sea level. They higher you are the less vacuum you will be able to pull (but the less you will need to pull too).

GK

M

Mudder

I use deep cycle vacuum pumps nearly every day and I must say I've never seen anything pull a vacuum of 30 hg.