Pricing Help

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from NittanyLion

NittanyLion

Always having lots of Burl laying around, I started making these several months back. I now have them on my Etsy site and would like opinions on pricing. Where would you price these on Etsy? Right now, I have each around $25-$30. I've had success selling locally as well, but I'm still new to Etsy and trying to find the correct price point. With Pens, I've found that higher prices sometimes help, and Im curious about if that holds true with an item like these.

What's your opinion on pricing for these or similar items....all burl, dried, sanded, and lacquered?

Attachments

• IMG_2297.jpg
    IMG_2297.jpg
    176.8 KB · Views: 220
  • IMG_2305.jpg
    IMG_2305.jpg
    171.6 KB · Views: 204
  • IMG_2313.jpg
    IMG_2313.jpg
    161.7 KB · Views: 210
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

1080Wayne

If you can sell them locally at $30 I sure wouldn`t price them less than that on Etsy , although I have zero experience there . I have debated the same idea with myself at $30-40 (matching the base wood to the pen displayed) , but have not tried it yet .

TonyL

I have no idea what I am doing and only sell locally by word of mouth. In general, I triple or quadruple the cost of my blank and kit (nothing less than $25) - but this is a hobby for me. I even tell my "clients" to go on Etsy where they can probably find it for less. I am sure I will run out of people to sell to given my zero marketing. Your prices look very reasonable and your work is beautiful. I wonder sometimes if selling all for $5 would make a difference. I don't think it would.

I just put one in my mailbox for a friend to pick up. It's in a plastic tube in a plastic zip-loc bag $40 for an AA blank / Satin Patriot kit. Maybe they like the custom impulse buying experience? I don't get it and I am sure the "party" will end soon for me (as far as sales go).

Good luck...your work is very nice.

plano_harry