Practice material

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

InkyMike

Hello everyone

I was just curious if anyone had suggestions as to the best material to practice with - as I'm thinking about my pen prototype I can see practicing a few thread and length setups. Not paying $12-$15 a pop for kitless alumalite bars would be ideal. My inclination is just to use scrap blanks as it doesn't really matter if they match, but I was wondering what other folks started out with. I am fairly new to turning, so I don't have a stockpile of acrylic scraps at the moment.

Thanks!
Michael

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Old Goat

Go to the local Lowes and pick up free samples of hardwood flooring. Some are too thin, but some are just fine. You can also try any local cabinet shops to see if they have hardwood scraps.

Old Goat

We have one local wood shop that actually sells cutoffs from floor/decking already cut into pen blanks for a buck each. Still get some nice Ipe, Brazilian cherry, oak, and hickory

dogcatcher

Dumpster diving the local cabinet shops has provided me with $1000s of hardwoods. Cherry, walnut, maple, and some exotics. Usually milled to 1×2 size which is 3/4×1 1/2.

40 years they threw scraps in the dumpster, today some try to sell the scraps to crafts people. My best source from the 70s to 90s no longer even has a rollaway dumpster, they sell the scraps and burn it in the winter for heat. But the smaller shops still throw it away.

InkyMike

Thanks everyone - I do have some scraps of wood blanks I can use. I had no idea woodcraft sold grab bags - our (somewhat) local store had them in stock. I'm going to check those out.

Brian G

If I understand correctly, you'd prefer resin blanks for practice, and you'd rather use Alumilite (assuming you mean urethane).

If that's correct, send me a private message with your mailing address. I will send a SFRB with some self cast urethane resin blanks too ugly to make into pens. My bucket 'o shame needs emptying.

Velcrodog