Polyester resin

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Daddy1

I am relatively new to turning pens and the tricks and ideas I have seen on these forums is MINDBLOWING. Just when I think I am doing something special I look at some of the postings or tutorials and I am so humbled. Those that can make segmented pens or pens with inlay are my heros.

Anyway, can someone give me a quick explaination of polyester resin. What is it, where do you get it, when and why do you use it, Is it something a relatively new turner can do?

As always thanks for your advice, tips and knowledge.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

gketell

Local Chapter Leader
All your answers can be found in the Casting and Stabilization section.

If you can turn a purchased acrylic blank you can turn your own PR blank.

Liquid Resin + hardener makes a plastic blank. You can color it, swirl it, cast it over a label, cast it into wood, etc. You use it to make different kinds of blanks than "just" wood.

It is relatively easy but you do need a few essentials: PR and hardener, a mold (can be as simple as a length of PVC pipe) and some way to get the bubbles out (vacuum, time, or vibration). What else you need beyond that depends on what you want to do with it.

GK

gothycdesigns

PR can be found at Michaels craft stores. There is also another product called Easy Flo 60, which I hear is pourable like water, 2-3 minute mix time and 20-30 minutes of demold time. But supposedley it is stronger that the traditional Polyester resin, it is a polyurethane. Check this site out

http://bare-metal.com/Polytek-EasyFlo-60-Polyurethane-Resin-Casting.html This is to be the site with the cheapest pricing on it. there is a distibutor in my area that says it is also in a clear and can be pigmented.

Good Luck.

GD