Pen body shaping

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ajsmalls

Hello all,

I'm new to kitless pen making and I've seen designs with a triangular shaped body any insight into how this is done? And how one would sand and finish it? Thanks in advance for responses.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Jarod888

In tool handles, its done between centers by creating an offset. Essentially, you draw a circle on each end of the blank, then you divide that circle into 3 even segments, so 120 degrees of separation. You then label each point A, B and C respectively. When you mount between centers, you put point A on one end to point C on the other end and turn the object, this will create an offset, once you have a shape you like, you rotate points, so B to A, repeat the turning, then finally C to B. This creates and off set turning. Once you have you're desired shape, you would place it back directly between centers and true one end to create you're tennon. Theoretically, you could do this with a kitless pen, but your points and circle would have to be precise.

I have some spare ebonite rods, maybe I'll try it.

wouldentu2?

You might try a router setup.
IMG_20200316_101558059.jpg

anthonyd

Hi A.J,
Here is a link to one of the videos by Shawn Newton on Youtube. He does them by hand with a file. He has other videos showing how he sands them.

Tony

dogcatcher

After watching the video, I remembered the process called "draw filing" that is/was done on the old muzzleloader rifles to make hexagon barrels out of round barrels. Basically it is an indexing feature on a jig, that also prevents the file from going past a certain point. The files usually have parts of both ends ground smooth so that they do not file down the jig. The cutting part of the file is drawn across the barrel until the smooth part of the file reaches the stop point.

Jarod888

So I tried an experiment of the process I described above.