Osage Orange...yellow?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Hope I put this in the right forum, sorry if I didn't. I've got some Osage Orange that my late friend sent to me and it's really yellow. It hails from Texas and I'm wondering if it will fade over time and if so is there anything I can do to keep it from fading? This is "Frenches Classic Yellow Mustard" color and I'd really like to keep it that way. Thanks in advance for any help.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Kenny Durrant

All of it that I've dealt with started out yellow. As it ages it will darken and turn a bronze color. I think that's the nature of the wood. I'm not sure if there's a way to preserve the yellow color but then again I'm no expert. Yellow or Bronze I think it's a very pretty wood especially if the grain is nice.

All of it that I've dealt with started out yellow. As it ages it will darken and turn a bronze color. I think that's the nature of the wood. I'm not sure if there's a way to preserve the yellow color but then again I'm no expert. Yellow or Bronze I think it's a very pretty wood especially if the grain is nice.

Thanks Kenny. I'll post some pictures once I turn the pen. I'm using a "Western" pen kit from PSI hoping that it will stand out against the antique pewter metal. More to come and thanks for your answer and help.

leehljp

Member Liaison
The wood is bright yellow, it can turn brownish over time. A good finish will delay it for a while. Sunlight will usually hasten the color change.

Intarsia is a form of scroll saw work that purists make with the natural color of different woods. Beautiful art! However, so far no one has been able to keep wood from fading somewhat, or changing color over time. Sometimes it is years and sometimes it is days or months. Some use dyes of the same or similar color to keep it closer to the same for a longer period of time.

But as one guy wrote, when you use or look at the object everyday, you never know that it changed colors! šŸ˜Š