Optimum compound angle

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Chriscb

Afternoon all,

I'm 4 weeks into new ownership of a 7x14 seig lathe. Steep learning curve, but also quite a few transferable skills from turning wood.

My background is not engineering ( it's medical physics) so there are chasms of empty space in my learning and understanding of stuff that many seasoned metal lathe users take for granted.

My questionsimply put, is there an optimum angle for the compound on the 7x14 lathe? I would appreciate explanations to support the answers please (to better understand the logic). I'm fairly certain I know, but confirmation is always useful. Currently it's set to 10 degrees.

A second question is the optimum position of the tool post. Currently I have it positioned just left of centre on the saddle - would it be better dead centre?

Thanks for your time.

regards,
Chriscb

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

@Chriscb
I don't really understand the full import of your questions.
I have been using a Sieg 7x14 for over 10 yrs for pen-making.

As far as I can tell, the tool post has only one position ... centered on the threaded hold-down stud.
It can, of course, be twisted on the stud. . I often do that simply to present a different part of the cutting edge to the workpiece.
But maybe you are thinking of moving the tool post left or right with the feed screw handle on the right end of the compound slide ??
I don't worry too much about that .... just keep the tool post approximately centered above cross-feed handwheel.

As for the angle of the compound, I normally keep that at 0 degrees based on the degree markings provided for the compound.
The only time I depart from that practice is if I want to make a tapered nib for a pen or want to create a conical shape for some reason.

I am wondering if we are using common terminology ? . Good diagrams are hard to find, but this one's not bad ....

1630680314512.png

Last edited:

darrin1200