Opinion on Penn State's Assembly/Disassembly Press?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

BGrubb

Good evening. I'm new to all this and putting together the tools to get started. It has been recommended by a couple of people that I buy the Milescraft pen press. It seems like a nice tool and I'm sure I'd love it. But before I pull the trigger, I wanted to see if anybody has an opinion on Penn State's Assembly/Disassembly press, found here: https://www.pennstateind.com/store/PENPRESSXL.html Also known as the "PENPRESSXL".

The cost is $70, or about $25 more than I see the Milescraft pen assembly press online. Is $25 worth it, or should I spend about $11 for the Harbor Freight transfer punch set I see people on IAP talking about?

Thank you!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

builtbybill

Welcome to the addiction!

I personally use a Harbor Freight arbor press, for assembly, and the Harbor freight transfer punch set, for disassembly. It was easier for me to justify this tool selection because they are used for more than just pens. Before I bought the arbor press I used my drill press for assembly.

Good luck,

Bill

emurphy416

I have it and i'm satisfied with the purchase. I had to disassemble a couple of pens and it was very simple and convenient. I can't speak to any other product as I started using a clamp to assemble and had nothing to disassemble pens with.

gtriever

I have both the Penn State XL and the Harbor Freight arbor press /punch set. Each has its place and use in my shop. If you go the transfer punch direction, keep in mind that you'll need some kind of non-marring pliers or vise to hold the pen body.

PenPal