One Man's Trash Gloat?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

sefali

I took my Mom out in the burbs Saturday, to check out leftovers from neighborhood yard sales. We came across a house that appeared to have been sold and cleaned out. There was all kinds of stuff on the sidewalk. My eye immediately went to a spilled basket of pencils and crayons. Closer inspection showed quite a few old fountain pens as well. I figure most of it is junk, but I really know nothing about them. Here are a few that stood out to me. Wearever. Parker, Scheafer (sp). The quill looking one has a 14k nib.

SNV34485.jpg

SNV34486.jpg

SNV34489.jpg

SNV34490.jpg

SNV34492.jpg

SNV34493.jpg

SNV34494.jpg

I'd appreciate any help identifying any of them. I am also wondering if any might look worth restoring.
Thanks,
Sef

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Mark

Wow, Congrats. I know little to nothing about FP's (yet). I'm still learning the basics.

Congrats anyway. That's a nice find.

ldb2000

The second is a Parker Duofold , from the picture it could be a Jade green Jr from the 30s and the third is a Parker Vacumatic from the 40s . I would need to see better pictures to give any more info though .
They all look a little rough but the nibs seem to be intact so I would say they are rebuildable but not worth very much on the market right now . The parkers are worth anywhere from $15 to $50 depending on the condition of the nibs .

Ken , The Parker Vacumatic is a single jewel which dates it from "38" to end of production .

Last edited:

RussFairfield

Passed Away 2011
In Memoriam
Can't tell from the pictures, but any name fountain the isn't broken and has all the parts is worth restoring. It is a personal matter whether it is worth the cost.

I would skip on an Easterbrook or a Scripto because they were cheap then and not worth the effort now. Other than that, most of them are worth the cost.

Penl8the

Hello Sef,

That is a great find.