Off center hole

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

YoYo

Hi folks,

As I'm a beginner of pen turning, I have already failed a few blanks. I cut them a little too short, turned too much and blanks cracked. Now, I don't know why the hole I drilled on my lathe is off center. First, I noticed that the tail head is wobbling, so I stopped and checked to make sure everything is tight. Before I started drilling, the drill bit pointed to the blank right at the center. When it's half way through, I started hearing the squeaky noise. So, after I done drilling, the hole on the other end is off center. I have a Rikon lathe by the way.
Can someone help me with this issue?
Thank you.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

KenB259

Hi folks,

As I'm a beginner of pen turning, I have already failed a few blanks. I cut them a little too short, turned too much and blanks cracked. Now, I don't know why the hole I drilled on my lathe is off center. First, I noticed that the tail head is wobbling, so I stopped and checked to make sure everything is tight. Before I started drilling, the drill bit pointed to the blank right at the center. When it's half way through, I started hearing the squeaky noise. So, after I done drilling, the hole on the other end is off center. I have a Rikon lathe by the way.
Can someone help me with this issue?
Thank you.
Can you post a photo of your setup?

Aurelius

It sounds like your tailstock might not be aligned inline with the axis of your headstock. If that were the case, you would be drilling at a slight angle so, as you go further in, it would rub against the edges of the hole and create the squeaking you are hearing.
If you have an dial indicator, run it along the length of the drill and I bet you'd find it isn't straight.

jttheclockman