Newbie ? Turncrafter Commander 10 VS Rikon 70-105

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

zorkman

Hi I am new to the forum. I am a fairly experienced woodworker and do most of my own home remodels. Now finally going to start my turning hobby as I near retirement. I have read a lot of the posts on buying lathes. My question is this. Penn State is offering the Commander 10 with sale price minus an additional 10% off. Also -including a set of wizard carbide chisels and and a drill chuck as a gift with purchase. The Rikon 70-105 is on sale at woodcraft with free shipping. The bottom line is my total outlay between the two would be almost exactly the same.

My quandary lies in that the Rikon is probably a better quality machine (not saying the commander is bad), but I think it has a smaller 1/2 HP motor and is not VS. Meanwhile the commander is a 3/4 HP with VS. They both have the swing and distance. My thinking is the commander is the better option. Just want to make sure that I am not missing something with Rikon.

Thanks everyone for your help.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Brandy

I don't know anything about the Commander but I've ben very happy with my Rikon 70-105. I don't believe the 1/2 horsepower is a problem

studioseven

First welcome to our community. I really can't answer your question because I don't know anything about either lathe. However, from experience at some point you're going to wish you had a VS lathe. If you look below this page, there are links under similar threads that may answer your question. Also Penn State has a 5 minute You Tube video on selecting a mini/midi lathe. That may help you. By the way, I just looked and all of Penn States mini lathes with starter packages are sold out. I'm not sure when they will be back in stock. The lathe without the package is available. Good luck.

Seven

mnerland