Newbie in San Jose

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

darcisowers

Hi!!

I'm Darci - from San Jose, CA. I'm brand new to turning. I've been interested in learning about pen turning for about a year, as I've teased my husband EVERY TIME we go to the local Woodcraft store, that "hey look, there's a lathe - I could make a pen!!"

So 2 weekends ago he found a lathe on craigslist, and is working on getting it operational...(don't ask, it's a bit of a nightmare story of us buying a lathe without a motor, with a stuck tailstock...and then realizing that the LATHE is not the whole part of the deal... hand tools are needed too, and a grinder, and... oh yeah, and pen related stuff!) but we're ALMOST there. We have almost all the parts ORDERED to be able turn the lathe on, and he's building me a stand for it. Should be nice. I'm hoping it will be operational by the weekend.

Anyhow, I met up with Greg over this past weekend, who GRACIOUSLY invited us all (hubby and kids too!) to come up to his house where he walked me thru turning my first pen. It's BEAUTIFUL. now I'm hooked.
first_pen.jpg
My pen kit is Sedona, I used Bloodwood. (I still have a lot of the lingo to learn.)

I'm very excited to learn this - so that *I* can be an expert at some fashion of woodworking (this is my first "solo" project!!), and then hubby will have to share the garage.

:)
Darci

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

skiprat

Passed Away Mar 22, 2022
In Memoriam
Welcome to IAP:biggrin:

But I'm afraid I have to break the bad news to you:mad:

You are NOT allowed to make a cool pen on your first go!!!!!! It's in the rules somewhere!!!!!!!!!!. You are supposed to make dozens of poorly finished and very badly fitting slimlines first!!!!!

Gee, the nerve some people have.....:biggrin:

rej19

Very nice Darci. There's no way I would show my first pen. I would have been banned from the site on my first post! Welcome.

CSue

Local Chapter Leader
Hi Darci and welcome!