New To IAP

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

BamaYank

Good Morning All,
Just joined IAP recently and still finding my way around. In do so I see there are Local Chapter within IAP. I live in N.E. Alabama in the small town of Bridgeport which is located as far as one can go in the N.E. corner with out going into TN or GA. Like I said I am new to pen making, some experience in turning wood but has been a Long, Long time ago in High School back in Michigan.
I have just aquired a 1950-51, ER-10 Shopsmith, cleaned it all up and am ready to start turning. I just purchase and I am waiting for my first pen turning supplies from Penn State Ind.
Like I said never did this before but am bound to try and learn. All the knowledge (which is very little) I have obtain thru on-line investigation, reading and video's.
Hope to be joining the TN-AL local chapter soon, I only wisde I would of known about the Chapter's Feb. meeting would of loved to attended that one.
Just a little about myself.... Douglas is my first name and I go by Doug, I will turn 67 this Sunday, retired from Detroit Edison Comp. in 2001. My wife (Becky) and I left MI latter part of 2000 for FL and lived there for 7 years. We then left Fl iDec. of 2007 and now live in Bridgeport, AL. It tuff being in the Federal Witness Protect Program always on the move L.O.L. We have 3 children, Becky has a daughter and I have two Son'd from previous marriages and we have 3 grand children.

Thanks for allowing me to intro myself!
The "BamaYank"

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Acornelius

Doug,
Welcome from Hsv. AL. I'm newbie myself. I attended the local chapter meeting in Feb. for the first time. Man it was great. Got a lot of pointers, people were very friendly and just had a blast overall. It started at 9:00, and I told my wife I would be home by 11:00 or 12:00. The meeting was only about 5 minutes from my house. So, and 2:00 I called her and told her I was going to be late. I guess you know how that went.