New Pen Turner

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Dawson

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dawson

Hello!
I have recently started turning pens. (I think a drug habit might be cheaper!) However, I am finding it VERY rewarding as well as challenging. Here are two of by better results so far. (After seeing some of the gorgeous photo posted on this web site, I think I may have tried to be a little too cute with the setting for my photos. I’ll do better next time.)
The two toned pen is fancy wood and cocobolo. The other is made from a century old pecan tree that was harvested in Mississippi about 30 years ago after being hit by lighting. I purchased it in El Paso, TX and have hauled in all around the country for 20 years waiting to find the perfect project for it.
I am still learning about how to finish the pens to obtain the long lasting shine. I would appreciate any feedback and criticism of what you see here. I especially would appreciate any resources you could point me to regarding CA finishes.
Dawson Nixon
Snellville, Georgia

200671701219_Euro-Pen-Pecan1.jpg

2006716235624_Dual Wood Euro PenD

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

elody21

Hi Dawson,
Welcome! Only one pen is showing on your post but it is very nice! Is this the pecan wood? I love woods with history! As for the CA finish. I believe there is something written up about the subject. Just go to the home page and check out the list of tutorials.
I love shiny finishes too but have not yet mastered the CA way. I use a water based poly when I do wood.
Keep those pens coming! You are doing a great job. Alice
PS I am sure one of the guys can help out with making your picture size smaller. It would make your posts easier to read.

gerryr

Very nice shape to the pen. You do need to resize the photos to 640. If you're using Windows XP, there's a great free utility that resizes them very quickly, but I can't remember the link to it.[:(] And, welcome to the IAP>

OSCAR15